Skip to Main Content
print small medium large 


Provincial Court

The Provincial Court of Prince Edward Island is established according the Provincial Court Act.

The three judges of the Provincial Court, who sit in Charlottetown, Summerside, Souris and Georgetown, have jurisdiction to hear criminal cases and offences contrary to provincial legislation, including the Highway Traffic Act.

The judges of the Provincial Court also serve as judges of the Youth Court, which has jurisdiction over offences committed by young offenders, pursuant to the Young Offenders Act.


back to top